top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFelipe Barco Pizarro

Association

When I think about this term, the first thing which comes to my mind is the pecking order each culture has. By being able to live on the states and here in Panama I've noticed a good amount of differences on this term, thanks to the culture each of them differ of. During the class we also disused how does the power in Panama works and how does the power in The United States works.


First I will talk about the experience I've been able to experience here and also how I've been treated due to the "Power" I have and the place I am on the pecking order. First of all I would like to say that here in Panama is normal that the son/daughter of someone in a high place of the pecking order, also shares some of the "privileges" that person has.


Here in Panama I have been able to see that people who are the workers of someone, it can be your dad, aunt, mom, a friend, or someone you know, just by the fact of you being related to that person, it is hard for the people who they manage to talk or reach you on a normal way. Even if you are not their boss, they will treat you just like one with no other reason than someone in your family or friend group being on top of them on the pecking order.


When i was on the states, this was not like this, I was able to notice that no matter who your parents are, the treatment you will receive is not going to be a lot better than someone else of the society you live in. This shows the perspective the Americans have over the pecking order. The one on top is only one and not his or her entire family and group of friends. This is not necessarily true, but that's what I was able to gather from my experience being there for over a year.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page