top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFelipe Barco Pizarro

Subsistance​​

This definition has many subtopics, such as what does our culture eats and the prestige or stigmas certain jobs have. I am able to compare the way Panamanian culture differs from the Colombian culture, since I am from Colombia, and how do I think Colombian and Panamanian culture differ from the United States culture, since I was able to live there for a year, and one of my best friends is from RedBud, a small town near Belleville.


First of all I would like to start with the type of food and the time which Panamanians eat at breakfast, from my point of view, being an immigrant. Something which really shocked me at the beginning, was that here they are used to eat meat with onions and coffee, for me it is quite much food to eat before 10 am, but it seems to be fine for the Panamanian culture.


In the other hand, we Colombians, eat bread, areas, eggs, thin Hojaldres or empanadas. We do not eat so much food, even less if it is at the morning. Since we do eat a pretty much heavy lunch, this means we have a salad, a soup, many times it is heave cream on the soup, potatoes and other type of flour, something else I've noticed is that here in Panama rice is always present on the food, no matter what else they're eating.


Now my experience on the states. While I was there I noticed that breakfast is something simple, like eggs, bacon, real and maybe a bread or a waffle. I do notice that food there is more like light at breakfast, but heavy at lunch and dinner, with options such as rice, corn, pasta, pizzas, burgers, meats, breads, small amounts of salad and some other.


The main difference from this 3 cultures, regarding the food is mainly breakfast, which really surprised me, since I thought that the breakfast was going to be kind of similar on every country, since is something fast and easy to make. By traveling I have noticed that the food plays a key role on each cultures Subsistence.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page